Attempted Poetry


Let me just start with one simple fact: I don’t like poetry. I know that is some kind of literary blasphemy, but the truth nonetheless. I rarely read it and most definitely don’t write it. So you can imagine my groan of pain when I received the last writing challenge from my brother, Kenneth and it was a poetry challenge. Grrr. But the whole point of this is to improve our skills and push ourselves. So I did it – groaning the whole time.

Anyway…the task was to write down all the connotations you think or feel about water. Read the list once and then write a quick poem. Leave it alone for a week and then come back. Decide what to keep or leave behind.

So this is my poem on water.

A silky thread moving through the trees.

Drinking in the colors around it,

Not one, but all.

The silver trickle of water over rocks.

Tying the earth together.

Wet Life.

One thought on “Attempted Poetry

Leave a Reply

