Column: Is there a future for traditional bookstores?

The King’s English Bookshop in Salt Lake City

This week I explore the changing world of bookstores. Read about the trends over the last decade, the challenges bookstores are facing now and what the future may be for bricks-and-mortar stores. Click the link below to read the column:

Book Matters: Is there a future for traditional bookstores?

I want to thank Anne Holman and Betsy Burton, The King’s English Bookshop, for taking time out of their busy schedules to talk with me for this article.

Support your local bookstore!

3 thoughts on “Column: Is there a future for traditional bookstores?

  1. I read your article on KSL today, and while I agree that there is nothing like a book store for browsing, and I am not a proponent of eReaders (just prefer the physical book), I just can't afford to buy all my books through local book stores in this economy. I am an avid reader and read about 50 books a year. With having to make our dollars go further, I don't have the luxury of spending sometimes twice as much on a book at a local book store as at another retailer. I have also turned to the library, and find myself going there for more and more books because I simply don't have that large of a sum of disposable income to spend on books. I do prefer to keep my money in our local economy, but sometime when it comes right down to it, if it's twice as expensive to do so, I just can't.

  2. Yes, Linsey. I face the same dilemma and I think most of us do. That is why the library is so very important. But when I do have money to buy a book, I want it to count 🙂 Thanks for your comment.

  3. Hi Teri! Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog (Bookishness)and for the recommendation to check out Sarah Addison Allen; I've already requested one of her books from the library. (And the picture I use for my header is just one I found through google images – but I love it! One day I'm going to organize my books by color.)I enjoyed reading your article on KSL – which is how I found your blog in the first place – and I completely agree with you on supporting local bookstores. I'm another person who has a hard time not succumbing to the lures of cheap books on Amazon and at Costco. My solution has been to buy fewer books (easy enough since I have fewer dollars these days) and use the library more. I only buy the ones I know I will want to reread again and again, and I try to buy local as often as possible.

Leave a Reply

