Review: The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, Graphic Novel

As part of my research for my last column on comic books and graphic novels I read one for the very first time. And what an incredible reading experience.

I have always been a fan of L. Frank Baum’s masterpiece series and, of course, the famous movie version, so when I saw this book I knew I wanted to read it. This is a delightful way to experience the stories all over again, not only reading it, but seeing it. This book and the others in the series bring to life all the fabulous characters in vivid, perfectly quirky illustrations, carefully capturing the original magic of Baum’s story. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz adapted by Eric Shanower and Skottie Young is not only a great re-telling of a favorite story, but also a breath-taking work of art. There were a few times when I turned the page and gasped out loud.

If you love the classic Oz, you have to experience the graphic novel. It’a a quick and completely entertaining read and the book itself is a beautiful display/conversation piece.

I have started the second book, The Marvelous Land of Oz and have the third on hold at Dr. Volts. Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

