Review: The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein

Enzo is dying. As the hand of old age tightens its grip he looks back on his life with the Swifts: a young middle class family living in Seattle. Denny Swift is an up-and-coming race car driver and racing is everything to Denny and Enzo until Eve and Zoe come along. At first Enzo does not like the new woman in Denny’s life and is even more uncertain of the the baby that comes shortly after. But Enzo will do anything he can to help protect them and love them. Because, after all , that is what a loyal dog does.

When I finished this book I hugged it to my chest and wiped away a few stray tears. That should tell you all you need to know. Enzo, though a dog, is a deeply human and compassionate narrator. His love for his family is touching and the trials that they all face together heart-wrenching. And then, in turn, their triumphs heart-warming. There is wisdom, practical insight and humor on almost every page. A book to cherish, remember and re-read in a few years. I loved everything about it: story, writing, characters and ending. Highly recommended.

Content note: Some foul language, including the F-word. A few mild sex scenes and sexual references.

3 thoughts on “Review: The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein

  1. I found a new book review resource I just want to share! The Book Report is a radio show with reviews, author interviews, audio book previews and much more. The show has a fast pace and is fun to listen to. I listen to it on WOR but I know they archive all their shows at http://bookreportradio.com/archives.htmlYou can also check their site to see if it is being broadcast near you.

  2. this books look so good. Thank you for the review. I have a dog and let me just say… hes the love of my life. Also checked out the link above for the book report radio show. Thanks for sharing that. I just moved so I dont have a book club where I live so I might just read along with that show! Host was interesting!

Leave a Reply

