A Writer’s Anniversary Gift

My husband has a gift for giving gifts.

For our 9th anniversary this month he got me one of the best gifts yet. I love antiques and lately I’ve been obsessed with old typewriters.

My mom was a professional typist and the soundtrack of my earliest years was the clack clack of her speedy typing. There was always a typewriter in our house, including a beautiful 1920’s Underwood #5.

Now as an adult, dedicating my life to writing, my fascination with these machines has only deepened. I can’t imagine writing entire books on these old things and my respect goes out to all the writers that did. For me the old typewriters have become a symbol of dedication to the craft of writing.

This is my gift…

This is the Remington Rand Portable Model 5 with original case. It was made in 1937. This style was a favorite of Agatha Christie.

My husband had been looking for the perfect one and scoured Ebay and collector websites. He knew he wanted to get this particular model. One day he happened to look on the ksl.com classifieds and there it was: excellent condition, fabulous price and the pick up location only a few blocks from his office. It was meant to be, almost as if – if you’ll indulge me – fate wanted me to have it 🙂

This typewriter belonged to a Granite High School teacher in the 1940’s (hubby went to high school at Granite), was used sparingly and then sat for the last 40+ years. The teacher’s son, who sold it to my husband, was thrilled to know it was going to a writer.

This is why I love antiques: they all have a story, a journey and now I’m a part of this one.

This gorgeous, pristine, 75 year old typewriter now sits on my bookshelf and I’m in love with it. It is an inspiration, a talisman.

One day I will write a book about it! (But not with it – my laptop is just too easy 🙂 )

Here it is in a 1939 Sears catalog. Top right corner.

4 thoughts on “A Writer’s Anniversary Gift

  1. I love it! Funny coincidence- My husband bought me the 1939 Corona typewriter for our anniversary last year! There's something about touching the keys, isn't there? Something about that little chime that tells you you made it all the way to the end of the line. Happy writing. I hope your muse sticks around just to hear the clicking. 🙂

Leave a Reply

