Favorite Quotes About Writing

A few months ago I did a post with some of my favorite quotes about books and reading.

Quotes, for me, are little tiny pep talks, sparks of inspiration and a way to know that others think and feel the same way I do. Quotes spread wisdom in a few short sentences.

Today I thought it’d be fun to do a post on my favorite quotes about writing and being a writer.

To write requires an ego, a belief that what you say matters. Writing also requires an aching curiosity leading you to discover, uncover, what is gnawing at your bones.

– Terry Tempest Williams, When Women Were Birds

A person is a fool to become a writer. His only compensation is absolute freedom. He has no master except his own soul, and that, I am sure, is why he does it. 
– Roald Dahl

The job of a writer is to turn blood into ink.
– T.S. Elliot
Love. Fall in love and stay in love. Write only what you love, and love what you write. The key word is love. You have to get up in the morning and write something you love, something to live for.
– Ray Bradbury

There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside of you.
– Mya Angelou

The difference between the right word and almost the right word is the difference between lightning and a lightning bug.
– Mark Twain

No tears in the writer, no tears in the reader. No surprise in the writer, no surprise in the reader.
– Robert Frost

I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I’m afraid of.

– Joss Whedon

This is how you do it: you sit down at the keyboard and put one word after another until its done. It’s that easy, and that hard.”
– Neil Gaiman

YOU CAN MAKE ANYTHING BY WRITING.
– C.S. Lewis

Please share some of your favorite writing quotes!




2 thoughts on “Favorite Quotes About Writing

  1. Great picks. Some of my favorites…All good writing is swimming under water and holding your breath. – F. Scott FitzgeraldThe story I am writing exists, written in absolutely perfect fashion, some place, in the air. All I must do is find it, and copy it. – Jules RenardThe art of writing is the art of discovering what you believe. – Gustave Flaubert

Leave a Reply

