A Romantic Daydream from Junior High

Writing Flashback: Romantic Daydreams from Junior High by Teri Harman, @TeriHarman, #WritingFlashback

In junior high my friends and I filled the dull moments in classes by writing notes to each other (for the younger generations – that’s what kids did before texting). Since all three of us were crushing on boys and partial to romantic fantasies about said boys, I decided to write “daydreams” in my notes.

Incidentally, I grew up and married the boy I had a crush on in junior high ๐Ÿ™‚

After writing a few notes, I decided to keep more daydreams in a little journal. I still have that journal and all my sappy, silly romantic stories of a boy and girl and a kiss.

So here is one of those DAYDREAMS, unedited, exactly as I wrote it when I was 13 or 14.
*inhales and prepares to embarrass myself*

The cave was cold and frightening but it was the only escape from the fury of nature. The wind lashed across the fields with tremendous strength. Rain beat down upon every living thing. Thunder bellowed and lightning danced across the elusive sky.

They sat huddled together in the small cavern holding each other close. She shivered more from fear than cold and he looked down at her. She looked back into his gray eyes and tried to smile. He ran his hand down her cheek and held her chin. He softly brushed his lips across her lips then with a gentle force he kissed her as the wind howled in the cave… 

Hahahaha! Oh, I hope you are laughing too. All I can say is I was born to live in my imagination and that’s why I’m a writer. Kissing scenes are still one of my favorites to write, but I think I’ve greatly improved on how I write them.

Were you as sappy as I in junior high? Who else wrote notes to friends in class?

3 thoughts on “A Romantic Daydream from Junior High

  1. Haha! So cute. I know I wrote down some of my daydreams, but I think I lost most of them. I'm not sure I'd want to read some of them… Thanks for sharing yours! That was fun to read. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Pingback: I Was a 14 Year Old Hopeless Romantic . . . | Teri Harman

Leave a Reply

