Review: The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce

Review of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce by Teri Harman, @TeriHarman, #BookReview

Summary
Harold Fry, recently retired, lives with his wife in a small English village. One dull day he receives an unusual letter from an old friend who is dying of cancer. Immediately, he writes her a return letter and sets off to the mailbox.

Instead of dropping the letter, he keeps walking and walking and walking. He believes if he walks the six hundred miles to his friend, Queenie, that she will stay alive.

Along the road, he meets many curious characters and spends the miles lost in his own thoughts, digging up long buried memories and emotions.

My Review:
The premise for this book sounds so wonderful and it’s featured on several best-seller and top pick lists. So when I picked it up I couldn’t wait to read it. And it started out good: interesting story, intriguing characters and beautiful writing.

However, for a reason I can’t really pin down, I lost interest after about 100 pages. I didn’t fall in love with Harold and his past of inadequacies started to annoy me. And, as I’ve said before, when there are 10+ books waiting on my shelf, if I loose interest I move on.

Content Note: Occasional use of foul language, including a few F-words and a few sexual references.

Did you read it? I’d love to hear what you thought of this book.


Leave a Reply

