Books Are Like Food

Books Are Like Food by Teri Harman, @TeriHarman, #BooksLikeFood

Occasionally, I get a comment from a reader, either on my blog or my KSL column, who seems absolutely appalled that I could have enjoyed a book they think is hideous. And that, somehow, I have done something wrong in liking that book.
Honestly, I laugh off these comments (you have to have a thick skin when writing for the public), but one day I had a thought.
Books are like food. 
Personally, I adore good french fries. Always have, always will. I would eat them every day if my arteries, heart and waistline wouldn’t stage a colossal protest. Some might say that my taste in food is terrible, even wrong.
But is it?
When it comes to my taste in reading material – I will never read the 50 Shades of Gray books. In my opinion they are filth and an insult to good writing and proper stories. However, I don’t think less of, or turn my nose up at those that like, even love the series.

There isn’t a right or wrong when it comes to taste, especially in books.  That is the beauty and triumph of books. Like food, there is something for everyone, something that everyone can love and devour with joy.

Our individual tastes are formed by a million intricate details. I’m never embarrassed by the books I love or hate. They are me. And your books are you. 
Do you agree? Have you ever had someone insult your taste in books?
6 thoughts on “Books Are Like Food

  1. Oh, definitely! I tried reading Shades of Grey and hated it; the package of frozen Brussels sprouts in my freezer could write a better book, so I am with you on that. I also agree about french fries (and Coca Cola!!)

  2. I've had people insult my taste in food: apparently, I'm not a thrill seeker, cuisines style. But I do love french fries!I have to agree with the comparison between food and books. It's all a reflection on how different people are, and that's what makes the world great, because there's something for everyone.

  3. I agree completely. It would be like insulting someone to their face because you don't like the style of clothing they wear! How boring the world would be if we were all exactly the same!! I like the differences in all of us, that is how I learn about new things!

Leave a Reply

