It’s My Party and I’ll Probably Cry

by Teri Harman, @TeriHarman #BloodMoon

Going through final edits.
Giving input on marketing plans.
Securing rave endorsements.
Bulking up my social media following.
Planning author events.
Writing book #2.

These are only some of the things that should be stressing me out and plaguing my thoughts six months before my book launch.

But they are not. Wanna know the thing I’m most worried about? It’s not what you’d expect and it’s pretty ridiculous.

I’m terrified I won’t be able to make it through the launch party for BLOOD MOON without crying!

Yep – that is the thing I’m stressing about. Almost daily I have haunting visions of myself standing in front of everyone, overwhelmed with joy (sporting a killer book-launch-party outfit, of course) and then it happens. My face scrunches up, tears flow, make-up runs and I have to speak with a squeaky, tear-twisted voice. 

But how am I supposed to stand inside a dream and not get a little chocked-up?

I come from a long line of criers; it’s a genetic defect (thanks, Dad). Not that I’m a blubber baby all the time, but I cannot talk about or be a part of something that is dear to my heart without getting emotional – watching my daughter dance, hearing my sister sing, the birth of my other sister’s baby, thinking of poor Bates rotting in a prison cell (ok – not really, but don’t you love Downton?).

Sadly, though, I can’t cry gracefully and my first book launch is certainly something close to my heart. 

Sigh. I see no way around this.

So be warned – if you come to the BLOOD MOON launch party (June 22, 2013 at King’s English – you’re all invited!) plan to bring some tissues to pass forward and a cry-baby translator.

Sing it with me… It’s my party and I’ll probably cry, probably cry, most definitely cry…






18 thoughts on “It’s My Party and I’ll Probably Cry

  1. Congrats!!! And at the party, go ahead and cry.There are plenty of people who cry when they're overwhelmed–even by good things. (I cried this Christmas when my husband gave me a trip to Paris.)

  2. I totally understand what you're talking about, I do the ugly cry all over the place: Church, daughter's gymnastics, watching the Olympics, while reading books, when someone else is crying… So if you start crying at King's English on the 22nd, then I'll probably start crying, and at least you'll have a legitimate reason to be crying.

Leave a Reply

