Adrienne Monson’s Favorite Vampire Books

Guest Post: Adrienne Monson’s Favorite Vampire Books, @adriennemonson

Adrienne Monson Headshot

dissension2Everyone wave to my guest poster today, author Adrienne Monson! Adrienne’s debut novel, DISSENSION comes out tomorrow, February 23, 2013! Click the link for my full review.

Dissension is a thrilling adult paranormal vampire novel and the first book in the Blood Inheritance Trilogy. Adrienne has been obsessed with vampire reads since a young age. Because she’s an expert, I asked her to tell us about her favorite ones. Here they are…

****

ADRIENNE

I’ve read a wide range of vampire novels from young adult to classical to modern. So enjoy my recommends – they’re in no particular order. I hope that you find them helpful.

Last Vampire

The Last Vampire by Christopher Pike. This is the book that started it all for me. It’s a YA vampire novel that I read in fifth grade. I haven’t read it since then, and probably would have a different viewpoint of it as an adult. But I’m including this book in the list since it’s what got me passionate about vampires in the first place.

Pike made his book unique when he created the origin of vampires. The book contains a thriller/mystery feel when someone tries to kill the main character, who was the last of the vampires. She investigates to discover who is killing her and finds out she’s not as alone as she thought.

 

Hollow SeriesThe Hollows Series by Kim Harrison. In this series, the main character is actually a witch, but vampires are a big part of the plot and a lot of the other key characters are vampires, so I’m including this in the list.

Harrison does a great job of world building and creating tension in the characters as well as the plot. The setting for her series takes place after a disease (spread by tomatoes) wiped out half of the human population and mystical creatures were “outed” because they weren’t affected. A witch, vampire, and pixie band together to start their own investigative company. They encounter one adventure after another in each book. Each plot is well written and creates quite the page turner.

historianThe Historian by Elizabeth Kostova. This novel is a different style from what I usually read, but it was so well done. I was drawn into the intrigue Kostova created and couldn’t put the book down.

Kostova was able to generate a very creepy atmosphere with this book while not being gory or having graphic violence. It’s written in first person point of view, and the main character never says her name. The novel is very intelligent and is a mix of adventure, Gothic, and thriller all in one.

 

 

interview with vampInterview With the Vampire by Ann Rice. If The Last Vampire was the novel to start my obsession, Interview With the Vampire was the one to drive it home. I fell in love with Rice’s characters and was able to read this book easily when I was only in the seventh grade.

Ann Rice was the author to pioneer the idea of vampires having feelings and being more than just inherently evil. She is a gifted storyteller. The rest of this series was well done, but Interview will always be my favorite, with The Vampire Lestat coming in at a close second.

With the books above listed as my favorite, I would like to give “honorable mention” to two other vampire series: The Sookie Stackhouse series, by Charlaine Harris and the Anita Blake series by Laurel K Hamilton. Both were absolutely amazing for the first several books, but started to taper off the longer the series continued. I would still recommend picking these up to read, just keep in mind you might not want to finish the whole series.

There you have it. I’m sorry I didn’t mention Dracula. I do realize that book is the most iconic when it comes to vampire literature, but it’s not my personal favorite.

****

Thanks so much, Adrienne! Great list!

You can pick up or download Adrienne’s new book, Dissension, anywhere books are sold.

Find Adrienne online…

adriennemonson.com

Facebook.com/AdrienneMonson

Twitter.com/adriennemonson @adriennemonson

WHAT BOOKS WOULD BE ON YOUR VAMPIRE LIST?

tree sig

7 thoughts on “Adrienne Monson’s Favorite Vampire Books

  1. I have to give a shout out to Sunshine by Robin McKinley and Suck it Up by Brian Meehl. Both made me smile and I like to reread them.

  2. What a great interview idea Teri! I loved your list Adrienne! There are a few books I have no heard of that I will now put onto my TBR list. I did love Dracula by Bram Stoker. I read The Hunger by Whitley Streiber in high school and loved but its graphic.

  3. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your
    weblog and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed
    account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you
    access consistently rapidly.

Leave a Reply

