Top 5 Favorite Witches

old witches

In the magical spirit of things, I thought a post on my favorite witches two days before the launch of BLOOD MOON was appropriate. In either a small way or a big way, these witches influenced the creation of the Moonlight witches.

1. Willow, Buffy the Vampire Slayer TV series

buffy-willow

I love this TV show! One of my favorite ever. I can’t wait until my daughters get older and we can re-watch the whole thing together. Of course, I adore Buffy, but my favorite character is actually shy nerd turned super-witch Willow. Joss Whedon’s interpretation of witch magic is similar to my own. Willow always tries to do what is right, but sometimes her powers and emotions get away from her. Remember the guy who lost his skin?

2. Sally Owens, Practical Magic the movie

Sally Owens

This is by far my favorite witch movie. I’ve also read the book, but prefer the movie. Sally, one of two witch sisters, fights and denies her magical skills after a family curse ends the life of her husband. Here again is a character battling the strangeness of who she is and doing her best to do what is right. I also love the strong female relationships in the story.

3. The Grand High Witch, The Witches by Roald Dahl (the movie too!)

grand high witch

Although written for kids, this is one of the best witch books out there. The master of imagination, Roald Dahl, created a stellar bad guy when he wrote the Grand High Witch. Beneath her mask and gloves is a wickedly repulsive creature with a diabolic plan to rid the world of all children. She is smart, scary and impossible to forget.

4. Morgana, The Winter Witch by Paula Brackston

Winter Witch

The Winter Witch is a lovely story of a heroine you can’t help but cheer for. Morgana is tough, determine, and sweet. She doesn’t let anything, including not being able to talk, get in the way of what she knows to be right. I was captivated by the descriptions of the Welsh countryside and the swoon-worthy romance. And the magic employed by Morgana and the evil witch, Isolda, is powerful and fascinating.

5. The Wicked Witch of the West, The Wizard of Oz movie and book

WW of West

I debated on whether or not to put this one on the list, but the Wicked Witch is too iconic of a character not to include. Plus, this is one of my favorite movies and series of books, so she’s had a big influence on me. Motivated by power, the WWOTW is devious, intelligent and memorable. From the green skin to her surprising end, the Wicked Witch is one of the most famous witches of all time.

Who’s YOUR favorite famous witch?

SHARE NOTES: @TeriHarman, #witches

Leave a Reply

