I Was a 14 Year Old Hopeless Romantic . . .

flashback pic

Last year, I wrote a post about the little journal I kept in junior high with all my “daydreams” and we all had a good laugh. Already an avid reader and writer, and definitely a dramatic teenage girl, I often wrote romantic little stories or scenes to my friends in our notes (that’s what kids did before texting) and also kept them in a journal. I still have this hilarious (also embarrassing) journal.

When I need a good laugh, I open it up and read one. Each one is written in my loopy, young cursive and involves a girl, a boy, a pretty nature scene and a kiss. Every one. I wasn’t big on plot variation at the time.

So, for those of you who need a good laugh today, here’s one, directly from my teenage past, unedited and complete.

photo (53)

Style-challenged, junior high me

* * *

The sun shone brightly through the clouds. Casting playful shadows across the land.

They walked hand in hand on the beautiful spring day. All the trees were in full blossom and birds sang love songs to them.

There was a small group of trees in the corner of the field and it seemed to call to them. The trees had heavenly white blossoms on them. It was so beautiful.

They came to the trees and ducked into the center of the group. It was spectacular. All around them the angel blossoms danced in the sweet breeze. 

They laid down in the center and gazed up at the sun that was perfectly framed in the branches.

He ran his strong hand through her soft hair. Then they kissed as the blossoms fell on their bodies. . .

* * *

spring blossoms

HAHAHAHAHAHA! I think my favorite part is the dot dot dot at the end there.

Hope you are smiling 🙂

SHARE NOTES: @TeriHarman, #writingflashback

Leave a Reply

