Recommended: The Thorn Birds by Colleen McCullough

Thorn Birds

Goodreads Summary

Powered by the dreams and struggles of three generations, THE THORN BIRDS is the epic saga of a family rooted in the Australian sheep country. At the story’s heart is the love of Meggie Cleary, who can never possess the man she desperately adores, and Ralph de Bricassart, who rises from parish priest to the inner circles of the Vatican…but whose passion for Meggie will follow him all the days of his life.

My Thoughts

When Pioneer Books opened the doors of their new store on Provo Main Street, I took my kids in to check it out. We browsed the used and vintage books, finding a few fun books for them to take home. As my kids munched free cookies from the grand opening celebration, I walked up and down the fiction aisles and soon came across a copy of The Thorn Birds from 1978. I remember my mom watching and absolutely loving the TV miniseries, staring Richard Chamberlin, when I was little. For $2, I thought, why not and added it to our pile of books to buy.

I started reading it later that day and from page one was hopelessly addicted to the epic story.  So beautifully written, with rich emotions and amazing characters, it’s the kind of story you can’t stop thinking about. Everything about the book is grand and atmospheric, from the setting, to the family drama, to the forbidden love story. It’s romantic, and tragic, and wonderful! I loved it so much, it’s one of the rare books I plan to read again in a few years.

When I finished I promptly ordered the miniseries and can’t wait to watch it!

Content note: There are about six mildly descriptive sex scenes, some violence, some sensuality and sexual references, and some infrequent language including a few F-words.

Leave a Reply

